Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Akash Deep Is Likely To Make His Debut At Ranchi

2 min read
AkashDeep will make his debut

The 27-year-old fast bowler Akash Deep of Bengal is probably going to play in his first Test match on Friday when the fourth Test takes place in Ranchi against England. Jasprit Bumrah, who was released for the game in order to manage his workload, will be replaced by Akash.

For the fourth Test, Mohammed Siraj’s pace partners are Bengal fast bowler Mukesh Kumar and pacer Akash. However,   we think that the team management and selectors are inclined to choose Akash because of his impressive bowling performance in the India A vs. England Lions game. During two red-ball matches for India A in Ahmedabad, Akash claimed ten wickets. In red-ball cricket, Akash has been one of Bengal’s top fast bowlers alongside Mukesh. In 30 First-Class matches, Akash has taken 104 wickets at an average of 23.58.

Despite bowling 12 overs in the second Test in Vizag, Mukesh failed to pose a threat to wickets on a flat surface. In the second innings, he claimed just one wicket, that of Shoaib Bashir at number ten.

Bumrah has been cleared to play in the fourth Test, according to a press statement issued by BCCI secretary Jay Shah. Shah said in the announcement that “the decision was taken keeping in mind the duration of the series and the amount of cricket he has played in recent times.”

If India choose to go with a fast bowler in Bumrah’s place, they have two options. They may either award Akash Deep his first international cap or reinstate Mukesh in the starting lineup.

Mukesh was left out of the third Test in Rajkot after missing the Hyderabad Test and failing to impress in Visakhapatnam.

Read More: Kl Rahul Ruled Out And Jasprit Bumrah Rested For 4th Test

However, Mukesh appeared dangerous in the match against Bihar, taking six wickets in the second innings out of a total of ten wickets. Bengal defeated their opponents by an innings and 204 runs following his stint.

India’s updated squad for the 4th Test

Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Devdutt Padikkal, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep.