Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

BCCI announced Indian Squad for T20 World Cup 2024, Pandya back as Vice Captain

2 min read
WCT20 indian squad

The final Team India roster was provided by the Ajit Agarkar-led national selection committee, and on Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India revealed the 15-member team of the 2007 winners for the ICC World T20 2024. Hardik Pandya will be Rohit Sharma’s deputy for the forthcoming ICC World Cup, having been confirmed earlier as the captain of the ICC event.

Days after the Indian Premier League ends, the ICC T20 World Cup 2024—co-hosted by the United States and the West Indies, two-time champions—will begin play. KL Rahul, the captain of the Lucknow SuperGiants, was left off of the 15-man roster that the BCCI confirmed, despite the fact that his IPL performance was predicted to have an impact on the Indian World Cup squad selection. After a horrible vehicle accident, Rishabh Pant made an incredible comeback to the Indian T20 squad for the IPL 2024, which is being held in the Caribbean and the US.

Read More: New Zealand announces its Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

While Pant is predicted to be India’s first pick, Sanju Samson of the Rajasthan Royals has defeated Rahul of the LSG for the position of wicket keeper in the Indian World Cup team. Shubman Gill, the Gujarat Titans captain and last season’s Orange Cap champion, was left off the roster, meaning that India’s opening pair, Yashasvi Jaiswal and skipper Rohit, will begin the innings on the biggest platform.

Game Fans Telegram Banner

Former India captain Virat Kohli is scheduled to lead the T20 World Cup, providing a fitting reminder of his T20I triumphs in the IPL 2024. This season’s first player to reach 500 runs in the Indian Premier League was the Orange Cap holder. During India’s last match of the year against Afghanistan, Rohit and Kohli were back in the mix for the Twenty20 Internationals following the 2022 World Cup.

Prior to the IPL 2024, India and the Asian giant-killers engaged in a three-match Twenty20 International series. In Ahmedabad on Tuesday, the national selection committee and BCCI officials had a productive conversation regarding the 15-member World Cup squad.


Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan.