Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

India vs Australia Odi Series 2023: Everything You need to Know

2 min read
india versus australia

At the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali, a three-match ODI series between India and Australia will begin on Friday, September 22. Both countries will use the series as their last opportunity to get ready for the ODI World Cup in 2023. The two teams are in quite different positions going into the three-game series; whilst Australia fell to South Africa by a score of 2-3, India just won the Asian Championship.

Notably, Australia has dominated India in the previous four series, winning three of them (one at home and two away). The addition of numerous players, including Pat Cummins as captain, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, and Glenn Maxwell for the series, has strengthened their team as well.

Read More: VIRAT KOHLI- The Run Machine

However, the club was without all-arounder Ashton Agar and standout hitter Travis Head. While Head is battling against time to recover from fracturing his hand in time for the World Cup, Agar has returned home to give birth to his first kid.

India, on the other hand, rested their veteran players for the first two games, including their skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav. In Rohit’s absence, wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul will be in charge of the team, and veteran off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has returned to the ODI setup after a 21-month layoff. In addition, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been added to the lineup as a backup opener for the first two games without Rohit.


The following players will represent India in the first two One Day Internationals: 

KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumra

The following players will represent India in the third One-Day International: 

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, R.Ashwin, Md. Siraj, Md. Shami.

Australia :

Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Voges.


Friday, September 221st ODIPunjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Sunday, September 242nd ODIHolkar Cricket Stadium, Indore
Wednesday, September 273rd ODISaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

Streaming Detail:

  • Details for the India vs. Australia broadcast and live stream include Sports18 (in English) and Colours Cineplex Superhits (in Hindi).