Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Jay Shah to Unveil New Name of Rajkot Stadium on Feb 14

2 min read
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium Rajkot

Jay Shah : Cricket fans have been eagerly awaiting the current five-match Test series between India and England, and the first two matches have shown why. Both sides have won one match apiece despite playing fantastic cricket. The hosts triumphed by a commanding 106 runs in Visakhapatnam after England lost the first Test by 28 runs in Hyderabad.

From now on, the 3rd Test will take place at the Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) Stadium in Rajkot, starting on Thursday, February 15. But the stadium is going to acquire a new name before the action starts. The stadium will be named as Niranjan Shah, a former first-class cricket player. Prior to the 3rd Test on February 14, Jay Shah, secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), would announce the new name.

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium Rajkot

READ MORE : IND vs ENG, 2nd Test Day 4 IND won by 106 runs

Jay Shah : Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium Rajkot to get New Name

“Jay bhai Shah will unveil the new name and we have also sent out invites to senior BCCI officials for the ceremony. In a couple of days, we will have confirmations from all the dignitaries and office bearers we have invited,” says SCA secretary Himanshu Shah.

“Can’t confirm this as of now but the invites will be sent and we hope the players can attend it too,” adds Shah.

The 79-year-old Niranjan was the SCA secretary for over 40 years, the BCCI secretary in the past, and he played 12 First Class matches for Saurashtra during the 1965–1966 and 1975–1976 seasons. In the past, he also held the position of chairman of the National Cricket Academy (NCA).

The SCA’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in October of last year approved the proposal to rename the stadium. As the President of the SCA, Niranjan’s son Jaydev Shah is a veteran of the domestic game who has played for many IPL teams in the past.

READ MORE : Zimbabwe to Host India for Five-Match T20I Series in July