Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Mohammed Siraj Removed From India Squad For 2nd Test Against England

2 min read
Mohammed Siraj

Mohammed Siraj, a fast bowler, was left out of the Indian cricket team’s lineup for Friday’s second Test match against England. The decision was made “keeping in mind the duration of the series and the amount of cricket he has played in recent times,” according to a BCCI media statement. For the match, Avesh Khan took Siraj’s position in the Indian team.

“Mr. Mohd. Siraj has been removed from the India team for the Vizag, India, 2nd Test against England. The length of the series and the quantity of cricket he has played recently were taken into consideration while making the selection. He will be eligible for selection in Rajkot for the third Test. For the second Test, Avesh Khan has returned to the squad, according to a BCCI announcement.

In an attempt to square the series against England in the second Test, India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to bat first on Friday.

Mohammed Siraj

The hosts, who are down 1-0 in the five-match series, made three changes in Visakhapatnam after their opening defeat, two of which were necessary because to injuries to KL Rahul and Ravindra Jadeja.

Zaheer Khan, a former cricket player turned commentator, awarded batsman Rajat Patidar his maiden Test cap.

READ MORE : Afghanistan Tour Of Sri Lanka 2024

Rahul, Jadeja, and Mohammed Siraj are replaced by Patidar, who was included in the team despite Virat Kohli’s absence for the first two Tests, left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav, and fast bowler Mukesh Kumar.

On the eve of the match, Ben Stokes’ England side was announced, while off-spinner Shoaib Bashir was given his maiden Test cap after Jack Leach was hurt in the wake of a thrilling opening victory.

After taking Mark Wood’s place, senior fast bowler James Anderson is still the only quick in the squad.

India suffered only their fourth defeat in 47 home Test matches since 2013 as England triumphed in Hyderabad by a margin of 28 runs.

Siraj, who is renowned for his reliable performances, would be given time to rest and be eligible for selection in Rajkot for the third Test. This action demonstrates the team’s commitment to player welfare and sustainable long-term performance.

India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav

England: Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (capt), Ben Foakes, Rehan Ahmed, Tom Hartley, Shoaib Bashir, James Anderson.

READ MORE : Shami, Shami Set To Be Ruled Out Of Test Series