Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Asia Cup Winner List

2 min read
Asia cup Winner List

Sri Lanka won the T20 Asia Cup in 2022 after defeating Pakistan in the final. A total of six nations are competing in the 2022 edition: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India, and Hong Kong.

In terms of Asia Cup history, the inaugural event was held in 1984 in the United Arab Emirates, with India and Sri Lanka competing in the final match. The Men in Blue were crowned Asia Cup champions for the first time. In 1986, Sri Lanka won the second Asia Cup after defeating Pakistan, the runners-up from the previous edition.

The 12th edition of the Asia Cup, in which T20 World Cup winners Sri Lanka were proclaimed champions, was one of the more interesting editions, with numerous tight matches played throughout the tournament, although Sri Lanka easily defeated Pakistan by five wickets in the final match.

Asia Cup. Credit to respective owner.

Meanwhile, squad India is the most successful Asia Cup squad, having won the trophy seven times. Sri Lanka is the runner-up, having won the prestigious cup five times, while Pakistan has also won the Asia Cup twice. Despite reaching the Asia Cup finals three times but never winning, Bangladesh might consider themselves unlucky.

Winner List

EditionYearWinnerWon ByRunner-UpHost
16th2023Sri Lanka, Pakistan
15th2022Sri Lanka23 runsPakistanSri Lanka
14th2018India3 wicketsBangladeshUAE
13th2016India8 wicketsBangladeshBangladesh
12th2014Sri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanBangladesh
11th2012Pakistan2 runsBangladeshBangladesh
10th2010India81 runsSri LankaSri Lanka
9th2008Sri Lanka100 runsIndiaPakistan
8th2004Sri Lanka25 runsIndiaSri Lanka
7th2000Pakistan39 runsSri LankaBangladesh
6th1997Sri Lanka8 wicketsIndiaSri Lanka
5th1995India8 wicketsSri LankaUAE
4th1990-91India7 wicketsSri LankaIndia
3rd1988India6 wicketsSri LankaBangladesh
2nd1986Sri Lanka5 wicketsPakistanSri Lanka
1st1984IndiaIndia wonSri LankaUAE
Game Fans Telegram Banner

Most Titles Won by Teams

WinnerVictoriesWinner Year
India71984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016 & 2018
Sri Lanka61986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan22000 & 2012