Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Champions League T20: The Revival Story

2 min read
Revival- of- CLT20

The revival of Champions League T20 is in active talks between Cricket  Australian cricket Board(AU) , Board of control for cricket in india ( BCCI), and England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). The tournament was started in 2009 and had a thrilling six seasons for the  fighting all over the world league teams for this coveted title. 

The CEO of Cricket Victoria, Nick Cummins, recently discussed the ambitions to bring back the competition, describing it as “ahead of its time” and noting that the T20 landscape wasn’t developed at the time. Notably, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) defeated Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Champions League final to win the title in the competition’s final season, which took place in 2014.

Cummins Opinion on CLT20 Revival

“In my opinion, the Champions League was innovative for its day. At that moment, the T20 landscape wasn’t developed enough. It seems to be now, in my opinion. ESPNCricinfo cited Cummins as stating, “I know that there’s active conversations about the Champions League between Cricket Australia, the ECB, and the BCCI.”

Read More: Top 20 Highest-paid Cricketers of IPL 2024

Cummins went on to say that the three boards are debating when in the busy cricket season to hold the competition. He went on to say that the boards may hold a women’s Champions League before beginning the men’s competition.

Finding a window of time to play is the only challenge, since there are all the ICC competitions to consider. It’s possible that women will compete in the Champions League for the first time. Cricket players from the WPL, the Hundred, and the WBBL may be involved, he continued.

Cummis said that BCCI secretary Jay Shah would soon be included in the preparations, and he is currently in discussions with Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley.

Game Fans Telegram Banner

“I think it’s extremely vital to bring back a Champions League, so I’m always talking to Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley about that. It is discussed. You should definitely ask Jay Shah this question. From the Australian cricket standpoint, however, we are very open to the notion of a Champions League. Finding a window in the FTP is all that’s needed, but in my opinion, that’s the next development in cricket,” Cummins continued.

Successful team in the CLT20

CSK and MI are the successful teams in this CLT0 League. Three teams from India, two each from Australia and South Africa, and one each from Pakistan, the West Indies, and New Zealand competed in the most recent CLT20 competition. Similar to the Indian Premier League (IPL), the two most successful teams in the competition with two titles apiece were the Mumbai Indians (2011 and 2013) and Chennai Super Kings (2010 and 2014). Conversely, the Sydney Sixers prevailed in 2012, while the New South Wales Blues won the first event in 2009.