Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

Australia Reveals its Squad for T20 World Cup 2024, No Smith and Marsh appointed as Captain

2 min read
Australia Revealed Its Squad

Cricket Australia has revealed a strong 15-man men’s team for the forthcoming T20 World Cup in the Caribbean and the United States, which is a noteworthy move.

The 2021 edition champions have, as predicted, left out veteran batter Steve Smith, who has recently shown a great deal of inconsistency in the shortest format.

Despite Jake Fraser-McGurk’s outstanding batting performance in the current Indian Premier League season, they have also left him off the roster.  

Australia’s skipper for the major tournament is the seasoned all-rounder Mitchell Marsh.

With Travis Head and David Warner, who are both devastating openers, and captain Marsh, who is probably going to bat at number three, the Australian top order appears to be quite strong.

Alongside Cameron Green, veteran cricketers Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis have been selected as the batting all-rounders. 

Read More: BCCI announced Indian Squad for T20 World Cup 2024, Pandya back as Vice Captain

Josh Inglis and Matt Wade were selected as wicketkeepers, while Ashton Agar rejoins the team to provide Adam Zampa with a second spinning option. 

Australia’s competitors in the competition will be Tim David and Josh Inglis, with Matthew Wade being added to the team as a backup keeper-batter.

Game Fans Telegram Banner

The usual trio of Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, and Mitchell Starc will headline Australia’s pace attack, while Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar will lead the spin bowling unit. 

Read More: New Zealand announces its Squad for T20 World Cup 2024

On June 6, Australia, the 2021 T20 World Cup winners, will play their opening match in Barbados against Oman. In both the 50-over World Cup and the ICC World Test Championship, Australia is the reigning champion.


Mitchell Marsh (C), David Warner, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Cameron Green, Ashton Agar, Tim David, Josh Inglis (WK), Matthew Wade (WK), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa, Nathan Ellis