Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

SA vs NEP: South Africa clinches Win from Jaws of Defeat

3 min read
SA clinches win against nepal

South Africa defeated Nepal by one run on Saturday in the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Arnos Vale Ground with to a four-wicket haul from spinner Tabraiz Shamsi.

Nepal played a fantastic run chase, and for a while it looked like they would win the match, but they were unfortunate to give up a defeat.
Nepal’s openers, Kushal Bhurtel and Aasif Sheikh, scored 35 runs together in the second inning to give the underdogs a commanding lead.

In the eighth over, after Shamsi had removed Bhurtel, there was the first wicket of the inning. Aasif Sheikh, the opener, stayed firm in front of the Proteas bowling assault and added vital runs to the scoreboard as wickets began to tumble after the first dismissal.

Nevertheless, Shamsi’s removal of Aasif in the eighteenth over put a stop to his assault and allowed South Africa some breathing room. With Sompal Kami and Gulsan Jha at the crease, Nepal required eight runs in the last over. For South Africa, Ottneil Baartman entered the attack.

Read More: Pakistan Eliminated from T20 World Cup 2024

On the third delivery, Gulsan lofted the ball superbly over the cover for a boundary that scored four runs. Nepal needed two runs from the next two balls after the fourth ball. However, Baartman maintained his composure and hit two straight dot balls, which enabled South Africa to win the match.


Following his four-over performance in which he claimed four wickets and conceded 19 runs, Tabraiz Shamsi spearheaded the Proteas bowling assault. Additionally, in their individual outings, Anrich Nortje and Aiden Markram both claimed one wicket. Tabraiz Shamsi’s outstanding effort in guarding the target earned him the title of Player of the Match.

Glimpse of the Game NEP vs SA

In the 31st match of the T20 World Cup 2024, Nepal won the toss and chose to send South Africa to bat first, beginning with a recap of the opening inning. Nepal did benefit from Rohit Paudel’s decision, though, as they were able to limit South Africa to 115/7.

For the Proteas, Reeza Hendricks and Quinton de Kock started with a 22-run partnership until De Kock was dismissed by Dipendra Singh in the fourth over.

Aiden Markram and Hendricks attempted to form a partnership and add runs to the scoreboard following the first dismissal. However, in the twelfth over of the opening inning, Kushal Bhurtel claimed the wicket of captain Markram.

Read More: Top 5 Lowest Team Scores in T20 World Cup History: Uganda’s on Second

After taking over for the Proteas captain, Heinrich Klaasen was removed from the game by Kushal Bhurtel in the fourteenth over, failing to leave his imprint.

Dipendra Singh gave Nepal a significant wicket in the 16th over when he dismissed Proteas opener Hendricks. It took the right-hander only seven runs to fall short of his half-century. At the Arnos Vale Ground, Dipendra shone when he removed David Miller in the 18th over.After playing 109 balls, the Proteas reached the 100-run milestone in the 19th over.

Game Fans Telegram Banner

In the last overs, Marco Jansen and Tristan Stubbs were on the field for the Proteas. With a six over the long-on to begin the last over of the first inning, Stubbs put some significant runs on the board for South Africa.

With the fifth delivery of the last over, Bhurtel removed Jansen, preventing South Africa from striking any boundaries. Bhurtel dismissed Kagiso Rabada on the last ball.Throughout the game, the bowlers from Nepal gave an incredible effort. Kushal Bhurtel’s four-over effort saw him take four wickets. Taken three wickets by Dipendra Singh.

Sandeep Lamichhane, who rejoined the Nepal team, also gave an incredible performance. Despite failing to claim wickets, the spinner’s four-over performance saw him surrender just eighteen runs.