Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

WPL Full Form

2 min read

In India, there is a women’s Twenty20 cricket competition called the Women’s Premier League (WPL). The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the organization that owns and runs it.

Mumbai Indians won the first title in the first season, which began in March 2023. Five franchises participated in the matches, which were held in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.


The Women’s T20 Challenge was India’s first significant women’s Twenty20 tournament. This competition began in 2018 as a single-match competition and was expanded to include three teams and three matches in 2019; 2020; and 2022.


The Women’s T20 Challenge would be replaced with a women’s version of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the premier men’s Twenty20 franchise cricket league in India, according to BCCI President Sourav Ganguly’s announcement in February 2022. Plans were further developed by August, and the BCCI declared in October that they were thinking of holding a five-team competition in March 2023. The Women’s Indian Premier competition was the colloquial moniker for this competition; BCCI Secretary Jay Shah emphasized that the Women’s Premier League is the official name of the league.

Read More: WPL 2024: Squads,Schedule, Venue and Where to Watch

The BCCI opened bids on January 28, 2023, for the league’s title sponsorship rights until 2027. Tata Group prevailed in the bidding at a price not specified. The tournament’s first victors, Mumbai Indians, defeated Delhi Capitals in the championship game.


  • Delhi Capitals
  • Gujarat Giants
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Up Warriorz
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore

Broadcasting Rights

Viacom18 declared in January 2023 that it has obtained the worldwide media rights for the tournament’s TV and digital broadcasts. The five-year deal was valued at ₹951 crore, or US$120 million.The Sports18 TV station and the JioCinema app, both owned by Viacom18, are the Indian outlets airing the league’s first season.

The competition’s inaugural season was televised by SuperSports in South Africa, Willow TV in the United States and Canada, Fox Sports Australia in Australia, and Sky Sports in the United Kingdom.