Games & Fans

Esports & Gaming News

2024 League of Legends MSI: Full Line-up of Participating Teams Unveiled

2 min read
MSI -2024

In League of Legends esports, the beginning of the competitive season is always thrilling. In the lead-up to the Mid-Season Invitational (MSI), supporters watch not just the new lineups that emerged during the off-season, but also how their teams perform in the first splits of their respective regions. North America, China, and South Korea hosted the first-ever League of Legends Spring Split, while Europe, the Middle East, and Africa hosted the second-ever Winter Split. Two teams from significant League of Legends esports regions will compete in MSI: the split winner and the runner-up. 

Riot Games declared that this year’s MSI 2024 will be held in Chengdu, China, with the competition scheduled for May. Riot Games announced that 12 teams from all over the world will take part in the first international League of Legends competition of the year.

Read More: How to Play Counter-Strike 2?

The victorious team at MSI 2024 will, in an exciting first, receive a guaranteed spot at Worlds 2024, which will also count as an additional slot for that particular region. But the Worlds-qualified team still needs to make it to the Summer Split Playoffs in its region to show that it is serious about winning the domestic league.

Format and Seeding

“The League of Legends Mid-Season Invitational is coming to Chengdu, China!” declared Riot Games. This year, 12 teams who have met the requirements will compete on a worldwide scale for the first time at the Chengdu Financial City Performing Arts Center from May 1–19.”

Game Fans Telegram Banner

A total of 2 teams will be sent to compete in China:

  • Each of the LPL, LCK, LCS, and LEC has two teams.
  • A single team from PCS, VCS, CBLOL, and LLA

The Play-In Stage and the Bracket Stage are the two double-elimination phases of the MSI 2024 competition. Regions would have more chances as a result, the publisher said.

Teams qualified for MSI 2024


  • G2 Esports (First Seed)
  • Fnatic (Second Seed)


  • Gen.G (First Seed)
  • T1 (Second Seed)


  • BLG (First Seed)
  • Top Esports (Second Seed)


  • Team Liquid (First Seed)
  • FlyQuest (Second Seed)

The minor region representatives are as follows:

  • PSG Talon (PCS)
  • GAM Esports (VCS)
  • ⁠Estral Esports (LLA)